Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In general, subjects which are beneficial to salaries, positions and career are the most people’s choice. While some argue that deciding disciplines which are students’ interests is the most suitable way to learn in academic courses. Both sides are reasonable and need to be discussed in more detail.

There are various reasons why people prefer to major in practical subjects rather than their favorite ones. They believe that these subjects like science, technology, engineering, and mathematics, namely STEM subjects are more popular nowadays as these subjects not only have great impacts on people’s career, but also are more functional in daily lives. For example, people who majored in chemistry are capable of making soaps by themselves. They can save the money which takes on purchasing them. In addition, when people have the knowledge about atmospheric, people can easily project weather through measurements.

Despite the fact that some subjects are less useful, they also have different merits on people’s behaviors and manners. For example, philosophy always gives diversity ways to think independently. On the other hand, if people study their favorite subjects, they can put more efforts on difficult courses and cope with any troubles during these classes. Meanwhile, the society also demands people who are specialize in various disciplines as development of countries still needs knowledge in different fields.

In my opinion, I also believe that students should study in subjects which they like since they can provide students higher motivation in learning as encountering problems. As a result, the government must establish a series of education system as well as provide resources to help students explore their interests.