Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.Discuss both these views a

People have different views about whether the university students should choose the subjects that will be helpful for their future careers. While the vocational courses such as engineering, computer sciences may provide practical techniques in the working environment, I still believe that the interests of students are more important.

On the one hand, practical courses can be a great opportunity for students to earn skills needed by their future employers. During the lectures, teachers use real cases in the workplace to introduce the skills, students are encouraged to equip themselves with skills and experience during the assessments. The assessments given by teachers also help to build students’ self-confidence while forcing them to do the similar duties in their future careers. When students are seeking the internships or graduate jobs, those skills and confidence gain from the courses may benefit them in the competitive job interviews. Therefore, people may argue that students should be encouraged to study the job oriented subjects.

On the other hand, it is perhaps more important that students have the interest or passion in the subjects they choose. I believe that many students refuse to study the subjects that they do not like, which may even lead to poor academic results. For example, one of my classmates who do not have interest and basic science knowledge of science, he find that it is a nightmare for him to study engineering and cannot understand the skills taught by teachers. If students study subjects that they do not have interest, they would be reluctant to study and earn the knowledge. In my opinion, students should consider their preferences on the academic. Although some of the subjects like liberal art or philosophy do not provide skills that are applicable in workplace, those courses are crucial for the personal development and critical thinking.

In conclusion, I can understand why people may think vocational courses are helpful for students, but it seems to me that students should study whatever they like.