Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While it can be argued that all students entering college should choose the courses that they can study, there are some people who strongly advocate that they should be obligated to study career oriented technology and major subjects. In my opinion, I totally agree with the former point of view and discuss the reasons as follows.

On the one hand, there are various reasons why people acknowledge that passion has an important role in life in general, especially in the field of research in particular. Society will benefit more if our students are passionate about what they are learning. Besides, nobody can really predict which areas of knowledge will be most useful to society in the future and it may be that employers, begin to value creative thinking skills above particular or technical skills. In addition, there are students who have talents in many other fields. One reason for this is that this proposed change in the education system will allow them to enhance their knowledge in a wide variety of subjects and polish their talents. For instance, if we include some arts and cultural subjects in engineering courses, this would open the way for them to explore other fields.

On the other hand, there are several arguments supporting the statement that universities should only offer subjects that will be useful in the future. They may assert that university courses like medicine, engineering and information technology are more likely to be beneficial than certain art degrees. From a personal perspective, it can be argued that these courses provide more job opportunities, career progression, better salaries, and there is an improved quality of life for students who take them. As a result, a focus on technology is higher than education could lead to new inventions, economic growth, and greater future prosperity.

In conclusion, it might seem sensible for colleges to focus only on the most useful subjects, I personally prefer the current system in which people have the right to study whatever they like.