Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Since time immemorial, in certain drier parts of the world, fresh water has always been a scarce natural resource. However, in the present time, due to various reasons, scarcity of fresh water has become a global issue. this essay will illustrate some factors contributing to this problem and will also elicit certain steps that can help the national authorities and individuals in controlling this growing demand for natural salt free water.

Firstly, population explosion is the factor of utmost importance, which has lead to the global surge in potable water requirement. Secondly, increased pollution of natural fresh water reserves due to urbanisation and industrialization has compounded this demand. Furthermore, in modern times, the growing use of salt free water for activities like recreational swimming, have also catalysed the surge in global water demand.

national authorities, on the other hand, can control this surge by implementing public education schemes regarding controlled water usage. Strict national legislations for preventing natural fresh water reserve pollution are also required. Moreover, government should also enact infrastructures for purification of seawater into saline free water, which will help in meeting the growing requirement of fresh water.

Similarly, public can also contribute towards this noble cause by conserving water and also by limiting their daily household water usage. They should refrain themselves from performing activities that will pollute natural fresh water reserves.

Thus even though, the scarcity of fresh water is a growing global problem, there are various means and methods available, by which both the government and individuals can prevent this from worsening.