Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Few people think that pupils should be free to choose the subject of their choice in universities, while others feel that topics related to science and technology, which are useful in the future must be taught to them. The essay will discuss both views and then I will reason out why freedom in choosing subjects is better.

The benefit of selecting subject of one’s liking is that student is able to learn the concepts well. When people are interested in some field, they are able to give attention to it. If the student takes a subject which is to his liking, he will be enthusiastic about it. Due to this enthusiasm, student will take a keen interest on the subject and understand the concepts well. Another benefit of allowing students freedom to choose their subject is that it helps develop them in job field. Generally, Students who decide to choose these subjects, go for non-conventional fields like arts and commerce. Such subject help them make their career in journalism and actuarial sciences.

On the other hand, the people who believe in letting student only study science and technology claim that these subjects have their own set of merits. The merit of studying science is that it gives a person to have a logical bend of mind. This in-turn benefits the student in his life because while thinking rationally, students will not take impulsive decision about life. Secondly, studying subject on technology helps students updated about the current affairs. As this is the age driven by advancement in technology, the student who do not study this will be left behind. Moreover, all types of communication require the use of technology. Hence it is crucial to learn about it.

In conclusion, while some people vouch for teaching only science and technology because it offers logical bent of mind and keep student updated, I believe in freedom of choices. I feel that unless a student is interested in the particular topic, the conceptual understanding is difficult. I also feel that having a favourite subject helps in choosing a career path.