Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.Discuss both these views a

Universities are normally seen as the place where next generation acquire knowledge and skills to improve career prospect. Although it offers certain benefit to focus on practical subjects that likely lead to better jobs, I still believe students should study whatever they like in collage.

Admittedly, subjects that have a higher rate of return in the near future, such as those related to science and technology could arm students with certain knowledge and skills best suit their future jobs, such as social skills, time-management and multitasking skills. As a result, these courses are likely to open the door to better employment prospect and allow individuals to enjoy a wealthy life. Also, despite the pursuit of individuals’ value, young adults are more likely to realize their social value by making good use of their knowledge and contributing positively to the whole society during their career.

However, interest is an integral part of education. It can arouse students' curiosity and enthusiasm in learning, which could significantly stimulate their passion and boost their creativity. This would exert a positive influence on young generation. Moreover, embarking on courses young adults like offers a valuable option to develop their potential and bring out the best, as only by maintaining strong interest can individuals provide inspiration to their viewers, listeners and readers. On the contrary, putting an overemphasis on practical subjects, ignoring individuals' interests, might lead to their potential talents left unnoticed, particularly for those interested in subjects related to creative thinking, for example philosophy.

Overall, I do not deny that studying useful subjects in the near future is of great significance. However, choosing courses according to individuals’ interest is also a valuable option which is too important to neglect.