Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Information technology is playing a pivotal role in many aspects of our lives, particularly in education, and many people are able to study at home through distance-learning programs. Although I understand certain advantages of online learning, I maintain that traditional classroom learning should still be preferred.

Admittedly, online learning can eliminate geographical limitations in education and offers a viable and valuable option, particularly for full-time workers and those who have families to take care of. Also, those who can not participate in classroom learning can achieve work-life balance. These people might not have a schedule which is flexible enough to allow for traditional classroom learning. Online learning often allows for much more flexibility and sometimes a student can view a lesson online, whenever they have time for it.

Those things being said, traditional classroom learning has many intrinsic advantages. Unlike online learning, teachers can adjust their teaching styles and their instructions to best suit the characteristics of their students. Also, classroom learning offers interaction that is most likely absent in online classes. For example, classroom teaching allow for lively group discussions or group projects, which contribute to students' physical, mental and emotional development.

In my opinion, classroom teaching remains the preferred method of learning over online learning. Meanwhile, online learning it offers a value option for people with special needs.