Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others believe that are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Although a growing number of people feel that one of the main key to decline crime rate is that criminals serve longer prison sentences, it is argued by some that crime figure should be decreased by some constructive ways. I personally agree with the later opinion.

On the one hand, a group of people put forward two main arguments to support the idea that potential criminals can be deterred by longer sentences. According to these people, longer sentences may serve as a deterrent to those who are planning to commit crime. Take burglary as an example. Some thieves may think stealing things from others as an easy task and they will not arrested easily. Even if they are jailed, it would not take a long time and then they can commit burglary again. Another benefit of prolonging the prison sentences is that it could provide opportunities for them to correct their behavior. They may use the extra time effectively by reading a wide range of books and sharing their past experience with other criminals which may lead to broaden their horizons and explore new goals. As a result, the prisoner would understand how their faults have already affected themselves and others after being released, and they will never repeat their illegal acts again.

On the other hand, others, including me argue that there are better alternatives to tackle the issue. Education could be one of the many. Although there is already so many kind of education regarding the prevention of offences at schools, it is still too inadequate to cause a decline in crime rate. Teachers should introduce various types of criminal acts such as murder, burglary, fraud and other things in order that children could determine what actions will be considered as a crime which is to warn the young generation and prevent them from becoming criminals when they grow up. Moreover, governments should expand social media platform in discouraging offences which could increase the awareness of public toward the seriousness and consequences of doing illegal.

By way of conclusion, although extended imprisonment might act as a deterrent against lawbreakers, it seems to me that education and publicity are much more desirable to address the root of the problem.