Some people think that children should be studying all the mandatory subjects until the age of ten, while others believe they should have an option to select favorite subjects to study. What is your opinion? Give reasons for your answers and include relevant examples from your experience.

People have different views about how much choice children should have with regard to what subjects they can study before the age of ten. While some agree that everyone should be able to select favorite subjects to study, I believe that the child should study all the compulsory subjects.

Children have great ability to gain knowledge quickly, especially when they are before ten years old. Therefore, they should study obligatory subjects firstly and then they have more choices to choose their favorite ones in the future. In my opinion, if children were not focus on general subjects like mathematics, language, science, history and geography, they would not be capable to recognize their special talent in various fields. In addition, children should be learned some of those basic subjects like language which is more likely to be beneficial for preparing them toward future life. For instance, a child just likes to study math but he abandons language course. Although he is extremely talented in math, he would not find a proper career in future because of lack of communication skills. Also, it is essentially that children should have a minimum knowledge about historic or geographic issues which makes them familiar with the surrounding environment and its changes throughout history.

In majority children, they do not know their favorite subjects so learning mandatory ones would inspire to them the main stuff that they would like to develop. Nevertheless, if the child have passion on specific subjects, there are lots of ways to approach it. For example, they can attend to some school’s club to extend their enthusiasm.

By way of conclusion, compared to the favorite subjects, studying obligatory ones would give more basic knowledge to children which provide more benefit for them to identify their ability and talent well.