It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

It is true that children learn more efficiently and gain more knowledge which can distinguish between true and false a young age. I completely believe that a system of reward and punishment plays a vital role in children’s learning, so parents should impose constructive punishments.

Without rewards and punishments, children can not learn a number of moral and ethical issues. Although parents may experience the reasons of moral behavior, the child may not be in a position to understand the difference. In this regard, punishment is given a negative consequence when children break a rule or misbehave. Children would realize their behavior is not acceptable. For example, if children might refuse to tidy their bedroom, the punishment might be that they can not watch their favorite cartoon. Punishment and praise teach children what to do or how to behave. Obviously, when kids get reward for behaving well, they are likely to want to keep behaving in that way.

Despite the fact that children need punishment to distinct between wrong and right, parents should make sure that punishment would be constructive not destructive. Physical punishment is one of those that should be banned because it has a damaging long-term impact on children’s behavior. Children imitate their parent’s behavior. When parents use physical punishment, children are more likely to use violent acts to solve their conflicts with others. Instead, some mild punishments such as restricting the use of the TV and Internet at home as well as giving extra homework and also social jobs like helping other classmates could be used by parents.

In conclusion, punishment and reward is one of the most effective way of teaching children how to behave. If children are not given constructive penalty, they will not be able to understand the difference between good and bad.