In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

In recent years, advances in technology have had an influence on teleworking which means that help people to do their tasks from home rather than commute to work like the past. In this essay I intend to argue that this development has both advantages and disadvantages.

The greatest advantage of working from home is that saves time and commuting costs. Teleworking and internet allow business people in different countries to interact without ever meeting each other, which may lead to reduce the travel costs. In addition, less commuting to the workplace leads to reduce high traffic congestion, which is one of the main cause of air pollution. Another advantage of teleworking is that people have less stress. In other word, the stress of commuting in bumper-to-bumper traffic at rush hour in big cities is extremely. This is especially true where the workplace is far from home. Other stresses include unfriendly coworkers, inconvenient work environment and constant distractions. So, working from home in their own environment at peace without any stress or distraction leads to more productivity.

Despite the advantages mentioned above, teleworking has some drawbacks. The most serious disadvantage of working from home is that people feel isolation and loneliness. The workplace provides a location to meet people and make friends, however working from home makes it difficult to get their colleagues and keep in touch with them. Another negative aspect of this kind of working is that danger of being overlooked for promotion. When you are away from the office and other more visible employees are actively in competitive situation, the possibility of getting promotion in career opportunities is much less. Face-to-face meetings with manager and regular visits to the office are critical point in order to prove your commitment to your career.

In conclusion, as it was discussed above, working from home by technological advances can potentially have both benefits and drawbacks. While teleworking can lead to reduce commuting expenses and stress, many people complain of isolation.