In the past most people used to travel to their place of work With increased use of computers the internet and smartphones more and more people are starting to work from home What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development

Technological breakthrough in this century has tremendously affected the lifestyle of people. Nevertheless, it changed the way people with white collared jobs too. A great deal of comfort is achieved by most of the employed population through the advancement of internet in their smartphones, laptops and other smart devices. However, there are few shortcomings in the working environment and the etiquettes followed. It has indeed transformed the people from an active itinerant to a enervated couch potato in most of the cases.

People have started to work smartly with internet around. The service provided through Wi-Fi and advanced satellite connections have made the impossible in to a working marvel. Employees are now able to harness most of the advantages through conducting meetings virtually; show productiveness whenever they are comfortable; risk of travelling through pollution; avoid stress and tensions for marking their access cards in office and so many other benefits. They are able to extend their working hours for the day and earn extras for their productivity. Staying at home helps them to eat healthy home made cuisines and easily keeps a check on the food they consume. Since, a pantry or a cafeteria meeting with colleagues in office go hand in hand with unhealthy eating habits, having a healthy meal has become the norm of their life. With frequent breaks and relaxation in the middle of the work, yet they are able to meet their deadlines within the stipulated time. Thus, stretching themselves amidst their tight schedule has a good impact on the usual ergonomics to be followed at workplace.

However, spending most of the time only through a virtual connection may affect the social relationships with colleagues. Communication can be a major barrier in hindering the agenda for the day. Sometimes, certain information can be misconstrued by the members working from home and they are subjected to work with the wrong inputs. Consequently, this can affect the timeframe spent on a particular module to be completed. Certainly, employer and employee relationship can be devastated in this case. Though people find comfort in work from home option, it is certain that extroverts will miss the working ambiance; colleague's participation; social relationship building; fun at workplace; mockeries and chortles; emotional attachment etc.

To conclude, selecting an workplace depends upon the people's basic character. An introvert and reticent person would always prefer to avoid socializing. He may be happy with the environment at home. Majority of the gregarious natured population rush to the office in order to meet new people and have a fun frolic work environment. However, world is changing exponentially and people can expect a work station completely installed at home.