Claim The emergence of the online blogosphere and social media has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the United States Reason When anyone can publish political opinions easily standards for covering news and political t

There is a claim in the United States that the online blogosphere and the social media has exacerbated the quality of political discourse, as nowadays anyone can publish political opinions easily, in spite of the protocols issued for covering the news and political issues. I completely agree over the claim because we are in to the so called technological era where people are being manipulated by the fake conspiracy theories.

Internet has a plethora of options to sandwich apocryphal messages. There are no restrictions by the users to form community and news channels on their own. Neither there is a license being issued for a normal citizen nor the content is being under censor before publishing a fake news. Indeed, this has drastically affected the accuracy of the actual news that had happened. Perhaps, false information and news spread rapidly like a domino effect that it instils a fire of hatred worldwide.

It has never stopped affecting the political discourse in the US. For instance, the Pizzagate hashtag was trending so much that the democrats were being abused about fake pedophile prevailing in a particular region. Consequently, people were protesting for no reason and even performed illicit demonstrations that resulted in imprisoning them.

Not only in the US, such trends are happening in nooks and corner of the world. People capable of manipulating the minds of others are becoming more vulnerable to the society in which we live. The most affected age groups being the teens and the youths of the world, who fails to reason the authenticity of each blogs or news they come across. In fact, social media is misused by the terrorists who infiltrate a country, gather acquaintances, spread false news, and try to rule out the government. Social media is a check mate to humanity.

Apparently, as mentioned in the prompt, such detrimental activities affects the standards of the news and the actual political agenda. The reason is based on the facts discussed above and it is quite obvious that internet can be misused nowadays in a way that conspiracy theories are sharper than swords.