The following appeared in a memorandum written by the chairperson of the West Egg Town Council Two years ago consultants predicted that West Egg s landfill which is used for garbage disposal would be completely filled within five years During the pa

In a memo written by the chairperson of the West Egg Town Council, puts forward the prediction that the available landfill in the town will last for at least above the predicted years by the consultants. Due to the fact that the residents are willing to recycle more garbage than before, the author assumes that the landfill in West Egg town will be ample enough to dump in the forthcoming years. However, the reasons stated by the chairperson regarding the predictions is flawed with few assumptions that are to be answered.

Firstly, the chairperson assumes that the town follows much stringent rules and regulations for effective recycling of garbage. It is based on this fact that he concludes about the availability of landfill for future. However, the survey based on 90% of the residents may possibly be false. Perhaps, there may be residents who are unwilling to dispose more than necessary. Further, the 90% respondents to the survey might have been a very meagre part of the residents with majority of the township persons not included in the opinion bracket. If there is a lacuna in the report regarding the participation in the survey, then the chairman's claim on the prediction for future does not hold water.

Moreover, there is an assertion regarding the imposition of double the garbage collection fees. At first, this point may look plausible but there is a necessary to know about the disparate charges for paper, plastics, metal and other household garbage. With a clear incision between the categorical charges, a conclusion can be made about the recyclable materials before disposing the entire garbage. What about an increased charge for other household garbage other than paper and metals? Indeed, there may be a increased disposal of other households which may lead to the increase in filling the land pits in future. There may be a reduced usage of papers, metals and plastics in the West Egg town. The author failed to clearly update the statistics about the differentiation between these categories. Therefore, weakening the stance over the forecast for future land fill.

Finally, the proportion of land pit available currently is missing in the statement. In case, there is proportionally less land fill available for the other households, then insisting upon recycling only paper, metal and plastics may not render a positive approach for the future. The information regarding the initial predictions and the final regarding the land fill is a potential requirement to draw conclusions. If these points are left unacknowledged then the author's prediction for future is sure to be in vain.

To recapitulate, the chairperson responsible for the town seems to be myopic in his approach for the disposal of garbage and the calculations about the land fills. For better strategic approach, it is advisable to analyze the following points for further improvement in recycling in the community.