Manned space flight is costly and dangerous Moreover the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men an

The argument is about a letter provided to the editor of a national aeronautics’ magazine regarding the advantages of unmanned space probes and satellites that are considered to be cheaper and harmless to lives of space explorers. The author also mentions about the great deal of information gathered by the satellite with automation. Though the insights about unmanned space probes seems to be reliable, the author failed to substantiate his data with reasonable evidence.

The author failed to investigate about the weakness in signal and communication barrier when the satellite is unmanned. There are high chances for attenuation in frequency and hence gathering the required data can be inconsistent. The claim about the great deal of data gathered seems to be undermined when there is a risk for breaching the privacy policies of other countries. Sometimes, it can lead to a space war between countries. Since it is unmanned, the author should have mentioned about the reliability of the machine. There are chances for the satellite to be trajected in a wrong direction and with just automated instructions, it is practically impossible for the space shuttle to change directions.

Furthermore, to add, the author must have given a guarantee about the space traffic automations. There is no accurate information about the space traffic being controlled automatically from ground stations. If that is not so, then it is possible for a big catastrophe in space between the satellites. Since there are no scope for astronauts to explore the space in an unmanned machine, scope for the field of space and science may decrease in the forthcoming years. Unmanned space drones are theoretical in approach rather than pragmatic and hence people are likely to develop aversion towards the subject.

To recapitulate, if the author had given plausible explanation for the mentioned facts, it would have ameliorated his statements regarding the unmanned missions for future.