Many people think that public celebrations (like national holidays, festivals etc.) are a waste of money and that the government should spend those funds in a better way. Do you agree or disagree?

Celebrations are integral part of our life which contributes to community participation. However, however, some people feel that public celebrations are not useful and it is kind of waste of time and money, I believe that there are so many reasons why people should give importance to public celebrations in our busy life.

To begin with, national festivals would foster national integration which would promote a sense of national and cultural identity among people in a multicultural society. When people celebrate an occasion together, they may forget about their religious, cultural or other differences which would boost solidarity and patriotic in the society. Another best thing about pubic celebrations is that they can bring people together. Nowadays, it is not uncommon for different members of a family to live in different parts of the world that they can hardly find an opportunity to meet on another, so in most cases festivals would be the only occasions they get together. For instance, for celebrating Christmas not only families live apart, but also the people of the whole community gathering in the churches. Christmas has also the busiest shopping season. People would spend enormous amounts of money for purchasing gifts, sweets and fireworks that might has a directly impact on economic growth.

Lastly, these great occasions are beneficial to exhibit the tradition of a country or a community. Holding the celebrations would be the best way to protect a culture from extinction. Besides, it would provide a chance for the young generation to understand and follow their traditional values and styles. For instance, during national festivals people are usually wearing their traditional dresses and enjoying customary foods.

By way of conclusion, although a group of people may argue that these kinds of celebrations would be overspending of a country, it seems to me that these occasions should be given more attention as they maintain cultural identity especially for the future generation.