Some people think colleges should provide knowledge and skills related to future careers. Others think that the true function of colleges is to give access ti knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. Discuss both views.

There are huge debates about what the main purpose of educational institution is. While some people argue that university should prepare students with knowledge and expertise for employers’ needs, others believe that it should focus on imparting knowledge for its own sake.

On the one hand, in the contemporary world, enterprises and companies expect their employees to take over all the responsibilities their job needs them to do, have the know-how, as well as the expertise to carry out demanding tasks. If you wish to enhance your employment opportunities, it’s essential that you have not only the basic knowledge but also the vital soft skills. Therefore people believe that university should provide students with the knowledge and practical skills of

the field they plan to work, especially in the field of media, business, economy.

On the other hand, there are good arguments in favour of studying at university for sake of knowledge only. First, for those courses that involve deeper study in specific subjects, this will give them access to the materials and other resources for their further learning and analysing. Take pharmacy for example, the process of learning requires digging into academic knowledge and doing researches which, without the support of the university, would be nearly impossible for students to do on their own. Second, university focusing on imparting knowledge will assure the quality of graduates, who will later become the pioneers in the industrial revolution.

In conclusion, a university is an indispensable part in the process of preparing students for the future. Depends on which courses are offered, university should provide graduates with knowledge and skills needed in the workplace, or give access to knowledge for its own sake.