Some people think that there should be some strict controls about noise. Others think that they could just make as much noise as they want. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The problem of noise pollution has attracted many people’s concern in the modern society. While some individuals argue that they have the freedom to make noise as they want, I believe that the level of noise being created should be strictly controlled.

On the one hand, producing noise is one of human’s fundamental rights. In other words, citizens have the right to make sounds as they prefer. For example, my parents always watch movies with high volume as “it’s more vivid and excited”, even though it may disturb the neighbourhood. In addition, creating noise provides people with relaxation and enjoyment. In special occasions such as birthday party, for instance, singing aloud and cheering are acceptable.

On the other hand, there are several reasons why I think that governments should control the amount of noise produced. The first to mention is that too much noise can significantly affect people’s health, mentally and physically. Frequent exposures to dissonant combination of sounds can lead to migraine, stress and even insomnia. This can be seen most obviously among metropolitan dwellers who have to suffer from the traffic noise. Furthermore, living in a place noisy all the time may reduce one’s work productivity. I myself find it extremely hard to concentrate on my study when my neighbours singing karaoke so often that I usually have to go to library to study.

In conclusion, while there are valid arguments to the contrary, it is my position that measures should be taken to mitigate the level of noise being created, especially in big cities.