Some people think that companies and private individuals should pay to clean up the pollution that they produce, not the government.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Experts throughout the developing and developed world have debated whether the cost of anti-pollution measures should be paid by individual and business sectors or the government. This essay will assert the notion that the government should play the major role in this topic.

To begin with, corporations and individuals have the responsibility to get rid of the pollutants by paying the cleaning services. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly they are the major sources of the rampant pollution problem. In fact, by studying the figures from the Environmental Department, the majority of waste in our landfill originate from household and various business sectors in Hong Kong. Secondly, eliminating pollutants by charging its sources raise the public concerns. For instance, instead of having an agency remove the waste free of charge, those who have to pay for their waste are likely to increase the awareness regarding the severity of pollution, and this encourages them to use things responsibly.

Although there are reasons to support that individuals and business sectors should pay for the pollution they create, the difficulties cannot be neglected, in particular the differentiation of responsibility. Take packaging waste for example. The packaging material accompanied by a new iPhone is, of course, employed by the Apple company, while it must not be forgotten that the consumers drive the demands, resulting in a disagreement of who should be responsible for this kind of waste. Furthermore, compared to those who produce the waste, the government is deemed more sufficient and energy-efficient in waste control, because the government can educate the public and establish recycling points in low cost. Therefore, it is possible to state beyond doubt that the initiatives taken by the government increase the likelihood of reducing pollution cost-effectively.

In conclusion, government constitutes the most suitable role in reducing pollution, despite the fact that individual and business sectors are responsible for pollution at large. It is predicted that the government will enact any measures to raise the public awareness about environmental protection in the foreseeable future.