some people think that criminals should be given longer terms in prison, so as to reduce the crime rate. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is agured that punishing the criminals by putting them in prisons could help to reduce the incidence of crime. In my opinion, however, along with imprisonment for a long term, education and rehabilitation might hold a certain position in order to improve the situation.

In the one hand, longer imprisonment policy would act as a detterent to tackle the problem of crimes increase. Firsly, this measure could raise the fear of committing crimes. If people who are tempted into a life of crimes might be aware of the severe consequences, they would not want to offend it. Secondly, it is likely to be the best solution to uphold an ordered society. The henious offenders such as murders or rapists should serve a long prison sentence or even a life sentence. Hence, it would be ensured that citizens are living in a safe and secured environment.

In the other hand, the significance of education and rehabilitation should not be neglected. First, due to the fact that the issue of crimes results from poverty, unemployment and illiteracy, the wide range of education courses are needed to eliminate the problem from the root. Therefore, citizens should be fully-educated and when a better live comes, they do not have any tendency to commit crimes. Second, first-time or petty offenders should be given a chance of rehabilitation. There are a number of identifying programs and strategies including community service projects or voluntary events that would help criminals successfully reintegrate back into society without re-offending.

In conclusion, while long term imprisonment could lessen the crime rate in some ways, there are a variety of certain methods that would aid even better.