some people think that criminals should be given longer terms in prison, so as to reduce the crime rate. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For every evils and crime, there are different types of punishment accrediated by the government. As we says imprisonment is among the popular. I think length of the prison will obviously change the way of behavior and their personal habits, which doesn't mean it will reduce the crime rate.

First of all, i believe that people with longer period imprisonment will have gradually change of the behavior and long term habits. people can be put themselves inesociety as the good civilian because they have so much lower confidence about the sins that they had done earlier , In addition they want to live as tranquil lifestyle for the life that will be left behind. For example in one of the book called Balmiki that describe ancient time peoples, Balmiki was the most culprit person but after the years of imprisonment he later became a famous writer and wrote a famous sanskrit book called Balmiki. As such a bad sins person can change into the better civilian.

secondly, as we know the people who don't wannt change their habits and will remain the same mentality will not help in the reduction of crime rate. some peoples with the evil minded will not understand the value of prision and they doesn't make senses of length of the prision. For example Hitler had his most of the lifetime in prision still he was one of the greatest criminals in the history books. so the length of the imprisonment will not help these kind of people.

To conclude, I strongly believe that the reduction of crime rate by giving criminals longer imprisonment completely depend upon the persons and the habits what they will come up to.