Some people think that cultural traditions will be destroyed if they are used as money making attractions aimed at tourists Others however believe that is the only way to save these traditions Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Many people suppose that the surge in international travel leads cultural traditions to aim commercial purposes instead of original values, whereas some opposites believe that money-making attractions keep these traditional activities surviving. While disadvantages of this trend cannot be ignored, I would argue that it also significantly contributes to developments of these traditions.

In terms of disadvantages, attractions which are always thronged with tourists clearly are facing some negative influences on inhabitants’ traditional lives. We have witnessed erosions of many traditional artistic heritages by globalisation. For example, Quan Ho Bac Ninh – one of well know intangible cultural heritages of Vietnam gradually becomes strange with youngsters for whom pop music today is a preferable genre of music. Without movements and fundings are organized by artistic organizations, worse still with further disappearances of many other traditions.

However, there are some benefits which result in improving these attractions. Firstly, both local governments and inhabitants gain a substantial amount of profits from commercialized attractions. The financial benefits then help native people to make ends meet and preserve traditional activities on the base of a stable financial background. Secondly, if beautiful sceneries or traditional values are turned into perfect commercial products such as package holidays and guided tours, they can make a name on the global tourism market. In other words, commercialization seemly is a motivation which makes indigenous residents have a thirst for better plans in order to maintain their traditions.

In conclusion, although traditional customs sometimes lost their authentic values for many reasons, I believe that money-making attractions give practical viewpoints about why and how inhabitants should keep their own traditional culture.