In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

People who settle down in small towns are witnessing a surge in the number of private cars because of increasing the demand of driving to larger out-of-town stores. While this trend sounds quite beneficial, I believe that its disadvantages overwhelm advantages.

In terms of advantages, there are benefits to be gained by shopping at out-of-town stores. Firstly, local car businesses can raise their sales to meet the increasing need of customers. Because of increasing the sales, the local car industry and related sectors can grow their businesses, which contributes a larger amount of tax to national and local budgets. Secondly, this trend helps local residents sometimes get away from it all and take a whale of time in a remote town. Apart from recreational purposes, driving to exotic areas enables customers to enjoy a diverse range of products that their own towns have no.

Nevertheless, we also can list many negative influences of this trend on both the local economy and environmental issues which outweigh any benefits. From an economic perspective, if local customers prefer out-for-town shopping to local stores, many native shops can be out of business. Consequently, although this trend provides car businesses with good opportunities to enhance their public images, it is detrimental to domestic retail sectors such as food or clothes, and therefore, this development seems not to be sustainable. Secondly, we cannot avoid negative environmental effects if the number of private vehicles increases. It is clear that the surge in private cars is instrumental on the growth of carbon footprint, which significantly contributes to environmental issues such as the climate change or greenhouse effect.

In conclusion, while despite advantages of out-of-town megastores, I think that the advantages cannot overwhelm the drawbacks.