Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

People all around the world have carried out many campaigns to preserve wild animals, in which zoos are an outstanding topic to widely debate. Some opinions think that we should get rid of zoos because they are too cruel, however, some critics believe that zoos still have some positive influences on preventing wild animals from the brink of extinction. While zoos also have some disadvantages, I believe that they are necessary means to protect animals.

On the one hand, many people think that zoos should be eliminated for some reasons. Firstly, low levels of living conditions are inevitable in many zoos due to limited financial backgrounds. In many undeveloped countries, governments have to take other important issues into consideration such as crimes and poverty, and therefore, allocating more resources on improving better captivation systems is truly an unfeasible mission. Secondly, some zoos are found guilty of abusing miserable animals as revenue-generating instruments for illegal commercial purposes. We sometimes see some lions or tigers showing signs of exhaustion due to overworking live performances. Such news sometimes is carried out by news coverage and strongly convicted by the public.

On the other hand, I still think that zoos still are useful places to save wild species. Firstly, although man-made living conditions in zoos are not similar to the natural environment, animals may live in danger if they are allowed to settle down in the nature. There will always be many criminals who want to hunt wild animals for their fur or tusks to meet the demand of high-graded furniture. Secondly, many zoos have upgraded to safaris, in which living conditions seem to optimize and suit for animals’ well-being naturally. This trend also results in a new type of tourism, ecotourism, which helps people in charge have more revenue to maintain animals’ survival and ensure necessary conditions.

In conclusion, although it is obvious that many zoos nowadays are still quite cruel with poor living standards to animals, I believe they still benefit for conservation if we have some appropriate interventions.