People have little understanding of the importance of the natural world. What are the reasons for this, and how can people learn more about the natural world?

Although humans’ living standards tend to increase day by day, there are still many people who have no good understanding of the significance of the natural environment. While some culprits have to be responsible for this problem, I believe that we completely mitigate it in some ways.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why some people have a limited amount of knowledge related to natural world. First of all, many people have not faced environmental issues in reality in some certain areas yet. Some locations possess favourable environmental conditions which are suitable for human beings, and therefore, they cannot be aware of natural disasters and habitat degradations and so on. Furthermore, from the political perspective, some countries nowadays are so concerned about improving economic sectors that they cannot take environmental problems into consideration. India is a typical example as authorities of this developing country always make an effort to reach economic achievements, and therefore, they want to raise public’s awareness about economic aspects instead of fighting against climate change or global warming.

On the other hand, this problem can be alleviated by some interventions. Firstly, the significance of international collaborations are instrumental in raising politicians’ awareness about preserving the natural world in undeveloped and developing nations, which should be led by some global organisations such as the UN. Secondly, national and local governments should impose more supportive policies and provide more subsidies to encourage education systems to instruct their citizens about the importance of environment. For instance, apart from delivering relating lectures in the class, some extra-curricular activities such as re-greening denuded areas should be implemented by schools to broaden students’ horizons about nature and form consciousness about environmentally-friendly relationships among children.

In conclusion, while some people nowadays still understand carelessly about the importance of the natural world, there are many remedies which help people to learn more about living in harmony with our planet.