Some people think distance learning programmes can never be as good as courses taken in person To what extent do you agree or disagree

Nowadays, we witness the phenomenon of a growing popularity of distance-learning programmes. It is hard to deny that the face-to-face communication between students and teachers in college education is prominent which online education cannot offer , and such a fact may mislead impressionable people to generate the opinion that distance-learning programmes are less valuable than attending college or university. However, such a statement suffers from both logical and factual fallacies, and it shoud be examied meticulously. As far as economy, equality and effectiveness are concerned, I strongly hold that people can benefit more from distance-learning programmes than attending college.

First and foremost, distance-learning progrmmes can contribute to education equality as online education is cost-effective. Compared to considerable tuition fees charged by universities, Online education only requires an electronic equipment which is much cheaper such as a computer or a TV set. Thus, for those students who are from rural areas and unable to afford tuition fees, online education makes it possible for them to have high-quality educational resources. And it is obvious that distance education contributes to promoting equity in education. So distance education can benefit much more students than college education does in terms of optimizing educational resources distribution.

Furthermore, the fact that distance education offers students with wide variety of courses indicates that distance education enables students to learn what they want to learn. Take the case of myself, Last year, I decided to learn Japanese because I was crazy about Japanese animation. However, the college did not provide the Japanese courses. Finally, I passed Japanese exam with the help of online Japanese courses . Actually, distance educadialecticaldialecticaltion can not only make it convenient for students to learn whenever and wherever they want but also stimulates students’ interest in learning since they are able to learn what they are really interested in.

Nevertheless, a voice arises that distance education is less effective than face-to-face education is in the aspect of communication between students and teachers. In fact, distance education allows students to contact with teachers not just from their colleges but from all over the world which will expand students’ horions.

In a nutshell, I maintain that distance education is more significant than college education. Meanwhile, college education is still an essential part of education system. But distance education is a trend and only by embracing the distance education can people enjoy higher quality education.