Do you agree or disagree with the following statement:

It is more beneficial for people to stop reading or listening to the news for a period of a few days or weeks.

With the rapid development of social media, people are bombarded with various kinds of messages, However, some of which are fake and aim to guide public opinion. Such a fact may mislead impressionable people to generate the opinion that it brings more advantages than shortcomings for people to quit contacting with the news for time. Nevertheless, such a statement faces both logical and factual fallacies, and it should be scrutinized rigorously. From my perspective, taking social relationship and effectiveness into account, I strongly hold the idea that being exposed to daily news will benefit people a lot.

First and foremost, constant exposure to media news can keep us up with current events, as we are able to get in touch with daily information and know more about the society we live in. Meanwhile, contacting with newly affairs and staying aware of what is happening around us is extremely essential, which makes it possible for us to react to the changes in conditions instantly. For instance, I planned a trip with my cousins to Japan last year. But the day before we left for Japan, we saw the news online that the city we were about to visit in Japan was suffering from tsunami. As a result, we reorganized our travel and finally enjoyed our holiday in ChengDu instead.

Furthermore, updating our mind with newly information everyday will help us develop a wider and solid social network. Since we are able to share and talk about current affairs with others, it will be much easier for us to make friends in common habits. During the process of communicating about news which we pay attention to, we can enlarge our scope of knowledge by exchanging information and find more friends who have similar tastes and interests with us. Take my experience for an example, I am so fascinated by archaeology that once there comes up news about archaeology I will follow-up immediately. By sharing news I gained online on campus BBS about archaeology, I met Tony who was interested in archaeology as well and then became one of my best friends. Besides, I established my interest group with schoolmates who shared the same interest with me.

Nevertheless, Some people may concern about the spam information which can disturb people’s life and attention, as a consequence, they stick to the point that stopping watching news for a few time does have its merits. Ironically, since anti-spam technique has become already very mature in the present, it is convenient and feasible for us to distinguish whether or not the information we receive is spam. And it is unwise to give up eating for fear of choking. Therefore, spam information is not a serious problem which we can totally solve by technology.