Some people think that employers should not care about the way their employees dress, because what matters is the quality of their work.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people assume that it is unnecessary for employers to comment on how their employees dress to workplace since work quality is what should be prioritized. In my opinion, I totally support this statement as what employers should pay attention to is not an insignificant matter such as employees’ clothes.

To begin with, when employers are too critical of how their workers dress to work, employees somehow cannot produce the desired productivity since they only care about dressing to please the bosses’ eyes instead. Thus, whenever they meet their bosses, they will always go for adjusting their clothes or hair to suit the employers’ preference to not be criticized because of unprofessional appearances. This means that the quality of work is underestimated since workers only care about dressing to please bosses instead of focusing on working effectively, which can directly affect work quality. If employers’s priority is employees’ attire, the main purpose of working might become meaningless.

Moreover, instead of employees’ fashion choices, what employers should be concerned about are work environment and employees’ work competence instead. These factors are decisive to a better work productivity and work outcomes. When working in a friendly environment where employees and bosses cooperate to learn and progress, the quality of work can be improved significantly. Furthermore, employers should be paying attention to their employees’ abilities at work. Even if their employees are well-dressed but incompetent for the occupation, their contributions prove futile for the development of a business.

In conclusion, I believe that employees’ ways of dressing is not what employers should take into consideration. However, they should be attentive to establish a friendly workplace and employ competent people to improve work productivity to strengthen their business.