Some people think that good health is important to everyone, so medical services should not be run by profitmaking
companies. Do the advantages of private health care outweigh the disadvantages?
Many people believe that private companies should not be allowed to provide medical services because of their focus
on profit maximisation while care should be the ultimate goal of any health provider. This essay argues that the pros of
private healthcare outweigh its cons.
The disadvantages of private healthcare are hard to ignore. Firstly, when the service is provided for a profit, private
healthcare packages may include hidden charges for unnecessary items. Secondly, operating as a business, a
private practice is often located in populous urban areas other than isolated districts where access to health services
is limited in most cases. In this regard, the private sector does little to improve the well-being of people in need.
However, the above-mentioned drawbacks are dwarfed by benefits of private healthcare. Non-public players broaden
choices and increase competition. As a result, prices tend to go down and quality is likely to go up; in the end, it is the
people that enjoy the windfall. Moreover, the participation of private providers helps release pressure on the public
healthcare system when they join the government in building health infrastructure. As an immediate effect, taxpayers’
money is saved for other causes that boost the economy, benefitting all.
In conclusion, although there exists some opposition to private health services, I believe they bring far more
benefits than drawbacks. The pulic sector cannot be a lone player in healthcare provision because the population is
growing relentlessly and everybody needs healthcare. The important word to note here is ‘EVERYBODY.’