Some people think that the government should pay one of the parents of very young children to stay at home to look after their children. What do you think would be the advantages and disadvantages of this policy?

Nowadays, owing to the financial pressure, a lot of young couples have to send their children to daycare centers where they may not receive proper care. Therefore, a large number of parents argue that it is essential for them be supplied financial assistance. My following essay will clarify the pros and cons of this motion.

At the outset, there is no doubt that not only families but also the country can reap a plethora of benefits from this policy. Initially, a fund which is set up to pay parents to stay at home and look after their babies is a contributing factor helping the child develop in a more positive way. Being well cared for and educated by their parents is likely to exert a profound impact on children’s social and cognitive skills. In addition to that, financial aid for parents is definitely a stimulant which encourages them to have children. Especially in countries with an alarming decrease in the birth rate, young couples will find it less demanding when having to face up to so much pressure from financial difficulties. On the whole, this policy is probable to bring influential outcomes to the socio – economic development of the nation.

Despite the above-mentioned benefits, there exist some shortcomings. In the first place, with the aim of setting up a fund to provide financial assistance, in all likelihood, there will be a significant increase in the tax burden on individuals. This can cause anger, demonstration, petition and rebellion in society and leave long lasting effect on the nation. Last but not least, the government also needs to spend money on tackling other more pivotal problems, which can result in budget deficit.

To encapsulate, paying for parents to take care of their kids at the young age is crucial but also arises many other issues.