Some people think that the government wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Arts sometimes reflect the heritage of a country and depict the creativity of an individual. While many believe that financing in arts is a wastage of money, I am of the opposite view as I believe that financing in arts is a good idea for the government.

Supporters of the idea put forth that diverting funds towards arts hamper the national well-being. For example, available monetary resources could be put to use in building more hospitals, roads, infrastructure and schools. This means increasing care of the sick and improved transportation to previously inaccessible areas. For children, it caters for increased literacy rates. This group of people believe that art is a luxury and many governments cannot afford this extravagance. According to them, other important sectors require more money and hence a government should stop spending money on arts and invest in more critical areas.

However, while investments in such areas are vital, spending on arts is equally important. Allocating money to the development and sustenance of arts helps boost the economy. Art galleries can attract tourists from all over the world, generating revenue in return. It is also the case that viewing and practising arts are good sources of venting out stress and recreate. Such activities also portray a positive picture of a nation and help to take pride in if pieces of arts become famous. If governments fail to support arts fiscally, many art galleries and theatres would not be able to survive.

Hence, it is clear to me that spending on arts is beneficial both for an individual and society. Therefore funding arts is not squandering money.