Some people think that the government wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Some contend that there are many pressing concerns that a country must resolve first before putting emphasize to art. However, I personally think that art is an essential part of a culture and it is quite fair to allocate funds to preserve and develop art.

Admittedly, there are some justifications by people who oppose spending on promoting arts. First of all, most art projects are expensive with no obvious outcomes that have direct relations to a nation’s income. For example, the monument of Kebangkitan Pahlawan in Malang city that adsorbed almost 1 billion rupiahs does not attract people that much. Besides, art is not a critical aspect of the sustainability of human’s life. Human’s life will not disappear just because they have a less taste of esthetic.

However, I still support that the government should allocate budget for arts. Art is part of a culture which becomes the identity of a nation and if the culture is strong enough, eventually it could be a major source of income. For instance, Bali is an island in Indonesia, where millions of visitors come each year to experience the combination of conventional values and modern lifestyles. The government in Indonesia invests more than a third of their budget to maintain their traditional arts. Furthermore, art makes a life worth living- as food, art is a supplement for the human soul. It has a magnificent power to aid buildings, roads, parks, and everything, with its uniqueness. Just imagine how empty a room would be if there is no painting or decoration on the wall! Art is enhancing people’s life by leveraging their experiences and empowering people to possess beautiful imagination.

To conclude, supporting art is important for a government as it would enhance the quality of life either by improving tourism industry or by providing a better artistic facility.