Some People think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Governments all over the world are grappling with problems like rising unemployment and growing threats of terrorism. Poverty is still a major issue in many countries in Asia, Latin America and Africa. In such a scenario, the argument that the government should stop wasting money on arts might sound logical. However, in my opinion, arts do have a place in the society. While I don’t think that the government should waste a lot of money on arts.

Through this essay, I am going to examine some possible answers. First of all, art is significant part of every country. Infact, it is also an industry with full potential generate money. For instance, in india many historical buildings are build up, such as; gobindgarh fort, haweli and so on, these buildings shows our culture and traditions. Moreover, Indian government actively uses traditional arts forms to promote tourism in country. Besides, India classical dance form like bharatnatyam and kathakali have enthralled audience all over the world and attracts thousand of international tourists to the nation.

Furthermore, Paintings and sculptures also have huge commercial value. Millions of people visit museums in Spain, Italy and Holland to admire the works of masters like Vincent Van Gog, Picasso and Salvador Daly. While these artists are no longer around, their timeless works are still earning a lot of money for their countries.

To conclude, while it is true that spending money on imparting education and building infrastructure is more important than promoting arts, in my opinion, the government should still do whatever it can to promote and sustain arts. Art forms, especially those that have a huge following, benefit the national economy in many ways.