Some people think that governments must insist on preserving traditional appearance of old buildings undergoing renovation or redevelopment. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

While, some people think that the old buildings must be preserved to keep the texture of the city, I think that the city is a living thing and must reflect the ages that it pasts.

On the one hand, cities we live in are a major part of our culture, which keeps as together and helps us define as a community. It contributes the memory of the society we live in. It helps us to remember our past, some of the buildings are even so iconic, so that many people come and visit the city to see them from all around the world. This also helps us to respect our roots, and build a future which is in a harmony with the old city. A city without those old buildings is like a man without any memories.

On the other hand, everything we build or make has a purpose, and also a lifespan. Although renovation or restoration, can prolong this lifespan, sometimes this can be contradicting with the city's needs. Especially in the last decades, with increased density and population, most of the cities expanded enormously. This uncontrolled boom has also brought its own problems with it. For example, some of those buildings has become an obstacle against this growth, while many of those buildings are inconvenient to live, not suitable for energy saving, or too old, others are unsafe or threatens other’s lives. Moreover they can cause traffic congestion and pollution.

To conclude, we should keep old buildings to preserve our collective memories and history, whereas this does not necessarily mean that we should stand against modern architecture and cities.