Some people think governments should spend money on faster means of transport. However, others think money should be spent on other priorities (e.g: environment, cost). Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Determining the most urgent priority for government spending has been high on agenda for decades. While many people appreciate issues like environment or cost, I opine that the authority should channel its budget into improving public transportation.

On the one hand, the importance of many priorities is considered to dominate that of state-run transport system because of several reasons. Firstly, although faster public means of transport is beneficial, surveys show that they bring about an inadequate outcome. For example, it was reported that despite a 10-percent in speed of light rail transport, its utilization did not obtain a proportional increase in New York, making the state’s project an unwise decision. By contrast, a spending for tackling other heated challenges like environmental degradation, or soaring crime rates can contribute to a comprehensive improvement, which is taken advantage by people on a nation scale. As an organ responsible for assuring social equality, it will be acceptable if the government prioritizes its expenditure on these issues.

On the other hand, I concur with the view that funding should be provided to upgrade public transport systems. From an economic perspective, there has been a consensus that faster vehicles may act as a catalyst in boosting domestic prosperity. Indeed, citizens and firms can take advantage from a reduced journey time, leading to a higher profit because of a lower overhead cost. In addition, allocating resources to public transport infrastructure, the authority is believed to adopt a multi-purpose policy, which resolves an excessive load of obstacles. Indeed, upgraded state-run vehicles are expected to discourage uses of private ones and, therefore, ease traffic flow. Not only does this help prevent traffic congestion but also reduces contamination of volatile organic compounds, the major cause of air pollution.

Briefly, while the impacts of other issues may be noticeable, it seems to me that a faster public transportation should be prioritized by states.