Some people think that having a set of retirement age(eg 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age.

Do you agree or disagree?

Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement?

There appears to be no unanimous decision on what should be the appropriate age to retire from government jobs. But there is a clarion call that preventing people to work beyond the golden age of 65 years, whatever the job may be, is unjust and that certain workers should retire early and enjoy the requisite emoluments. I disagree with this view but I will make recommendations about workers that should be considered for retirement before the golden age.

It is not debatable that workers should retire at one time or the other. It is therefore fair that a specific age is set in stone as the age to retire regardless of job everyone contributes equally to the development of the society. This will stand as a reference for impartial governance. For instance, it is part of the job process that each worker is informed from the outset that 65 years is the age of retirement in Nigeria. If some jobs enjoy early retirement with the required benefits, it will be tantamount to injustice and will worsen the social class issues in society. Therefore, it seems logical to agree on a certain age as the retirement age.

Without mincing words, military officers, who defend and protect the state from terror should retire early. Furthermore, medical doctors, lawyers and business entrepreneurs in public service should enjoy early retirement because these workers are essential in the private set up rather than the public establishments where there is often a glut of them.

In conclusion, I disagree with the said unfairness of having a particular age of retirement. Some essential workers such as doctors, military officers and entrepreneurs, however, deserve to leave public service earlier than others with their full benefits paid.