Some people think that health care should be free for everyone Others think that people should pay for their medical costs themselves Discuss both the views with your own opinion
Nowadays, health care has become the focus of the people's concern. lt is a highly debated issue as to who
should pay for this service. There are those who argue that the government should pay for it, while others
think individuals should shoulder the costs. This essay intends to analyse both perspectives. Personally, I
think that basic health care should be on the government, but advanced health care should be borne by
the individual.
It is irrefutable that it is the government's responsibility to make basic health care accessible to everyone.
The reason is that a nation's prosperity very much depends on the contribution made by its citizens who
are in good health. After all we all pay taxes and so we are entitled to get something back in return. private
hospitals can be available for those who want and can afford it, but the free government hospitals should
always be there.
On the other hand, individuals should be responsible for their advanced health care. Actually, the advanced
medical and surgical treatments are very expensive. So, instead of depending on the government we should
take some health insurance or save in any other way with the tomorrow in mind. lf the government pays
for the advanced health care, then it would be a big burden on its shoulders and many other essential
areas, such as primary education would be ignored.
There are, of course, some sections of society who cannot afford their own healthcare. The government
should have some system of knowing their financial status and provide free healthcare so that nobody dies
for want of treatment.
To sum up, it can be reiterated that basic healthcare should be borne by the government, but advanced
health care should be paid for by the individual from his pocket.