Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Opinions diverge on whether it brings myriad certain merits for a nation to host a global event of sports. Although this stance is formidably attacked, I am in opposition to it for some rational reasons.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that holding a huge international event costs a handsome amount of money in a nation’s finance. Take World Cup 2022 as an exemplary model, it is assumed that Qatar budgeted 220 billion dollars for this massive competition. Perceptibly, that can lead to numerous financial problems of a particular country and a clear demonstration of economic stagnation which are likely to have an adverse impact on the resident’s life.

On the other hand, I still hold onto the notion that a country can gain a giant profit when they accept to be a host for a global sports event. To begin with, a host country is capable of propelling the tourism realm by organizing these kinds of events. For instance, Qatar has welcomed an influx of more than 1 million tourists coming to their country this year for the World Cup and it is proposed to reach 2 billion USD for its economy in the next 3 years. Moreover, through holding sport-related events, a nation can arouse residents’ interest in sports. In other words, inhabitants, especially the youngsters in a country can be inspired and promoted to do more sports in order to boost their health by letting them immerse in the event atmosphere.

To sum up, albeit a aforementioned demerit of hosting an international sports event, I do ascertain that this trend is advantageous to a country.