Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

People hold conflicting views about whether it is good or bad to host an international sports event. While many people believe that it is a bad idea to organize a large sports event, I would argue that hosting this kind of event brings many benefits to the nation.

On the one hand, proponents of the idea that host countries have to deal with several problems tend to point out a combination of reasons. First and foremost, it will cost lots of money to hold an event like that. This is because the host country must prepare for all things including upgrading facilities by itself, which takes it a large amount of expense. Another compelling reason is that hosting an international sports game can rise crime rates in the nation. During the game, bad people have more chances to steal things or even terrorize in crowded places. It will create a bad impression about the country from visitors.

On the other hand, I advocate for those who believe that international sports games can provide some advantages for the host country. The primary rationale is that it will help the country to widen its relationship with other countries. For example, Vietnam improved its relationship harmoniously so well with neighboring Asian nations such as Singapore and Thailand in Sea Games 2003. Furthermore, becoming the host of this event can help the country to boost its tourism. It can be explained by the fact that, if the sports event is organized in a country, many people from many nations in the world will come there to see the event. As a result, this region will be a destination for foreign tourists and they can visit other interesting places besides the event location, which makes this country more well-known.

In conclusion, both sides are justifiable. However, on balance, I believe that hosting a large sports event is very beneficial for the country because of the significant advantages of boosting tourism and relationships with other countries.