Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have differing views about whether or not children should be taught at school or at home. Recently, this phenomenon has been brought to public attention with people standing on two different sides.

On the one hand, proponents of the idea that parents had better educate their children on how to become decent citizens tend to point out a combination of reasons. First and foremost, parents are very close with their children, which means that they can understand and share lots of things with their sons and daughters. As a result, children will feel more comfortable when studying with their parents. Another compelling reason is that parents’ behaviors have a big impact on children’s thoughts, so they will be the best model for children to follow. An illustration is that if a mother spends much time on work, her son will take more time to study instead of playing games.

On the other hand, I advocate for those who believe that school is the best place for children to learn this. The primary rationale is that textbooks can provide children with a huge amount of helpful knowledge that they can use to deal with plenty of issues. For instance, it can guide children on how to solve a math problem or explain to them why it rains. Furthermore, it is widely known that children spend more time at school than at their home. Consequently, teachers play a vital role in guilting children into learning many essential skills. They can also give children suitable advice and suggestions to study better. Besides, schools can also bring children a good environment to have comprehensive development. This is because children study with their friends at school, which gives them more motivation in learning.

In conclusion, both sides are justifiable. However, on balance, I believe that school possesses an important role in children’s development.