Although more and more people read news on the Internet, newspapers will remain the most important sources of news. Do you agree or disagree?

A school of thought holds the view that despite the increase in the number of residents using the Internet to read news, newspapers still play a vital role in news sources. From my perspective, I completely disagree with this viewpoint for several reasons.

On the one hand, I firmly believe that reading newspapers is out of date in recent years. It can be clearly seen that the elderly often read this form of information because of their fixed habits. Meanwhile, there are only a few or none of the young generations who are interested in newspapers because they will have to wait until the newspapers are published. Another compelling reason is that it will cost people an amount of money to purchase newspapers. In contrast, if they do not have any money, they can not have the news they want.

On the other hand, it will be more convenient for people to access new information on the Internet. This can be explained by the fact that technology has developed at a fast speed in today’s society so that people can find what they want immediately. For instance, if they use the search tools to find information about the solutions for a math problem, it only takes them about one to two seconds to show them lots of related results. Furthermore, there are plenty of news sources on the Internet about many different fields so people can read both national and international news at home instead of going out to buy newspapers.

In conclusion, I believe that newspapers are not suitable for contemporary society due to their cost and slowness. Besides, I strongly reckon that online news can substitute for newspapers in the near future because of its rapidity, convenience, and freely available information.