Environmental damage is the problem of most countries. What factors damage the environment and who should take responsibility?

The deterioration of environment has been one of the major issues that need urgent action to be addressed. I believe that air pollution and deforestation are the main culprits of this phenomenon. Therefore, both parties, namely individuals and governments, should ensure accountability to solve the problem.

The two main factors behind this degradation are contaminated air and clearing forests. Concerning the former, the excessive growth of industrial production combined with the substantial increase in the number of transportation leads to the disposal of harmful gases to the environment. These substances are generally considered as the key factor destroying the ozone layer which protects the Earth from detrimental effects of ultraviolet rays. The second point is that overpopulation and lucrative timber harvesting have negatively driven people to deforest. As a result, some adversely worth-concerning consequences are animals’ struggling to survive and the frequent occurrence of natural disasters, which creates an imbalance in the whole ecosystem.

Both authorities and individuals are accountable for the issue of environmental damage. Obviously, governments have to pioneer in saving the environment as those competent authorities can make collaborative efforts in enacting new international laws which ensure citizens’ compliance with all regulations in protecting our surroundings. In addition, each person is responsible for not doing harm to the environment as his or her daily performance would directly impact the habitat. For example, provided that individuals awareness of reducing plastic use on a daily basis, the total amount of this substance disposed to the environment would significantly plummet.

In conclusion, environmental degradation is the disadvantageous impact of polluted air and deforestation; therefore, there is a call for responsibility of both governments and individuals in tackling this problem.