Some people think that intelligence is innate while others think that we can improve our knowledge through learning discuss both sides and give opinion

In recent years, the way of improving intelligence has been gaining a great deal of attention throughout the world. Most importantly, it has been a bone of contention among neuroscientists and other experts regarding the measures on how one can improve his or her intelligence. While some people consider intelligence as a by born concept, however, I would contend that it can be upgraded by other means as well.

On the one hand, it is inevitable that there are some people born with great intelligence which comes from their parents. As a result, scientists always consider genetics to be the prime precursor for becoming talented. Therefore, a lot of research has been carried out in different parts of the world that explains a strong correlation of innate genetics to the talents of a person. In an empirical survey conducted by London’s Psychiatric Association in 2019 depicts the same notion. In their survey, it is found that more than 89% of the subjects showed higher cognitive skills and other improved brain functions who belonged to their meritorious parents. This undeniably proves that intelligence is mostly an innate issue of a person.

Conversely, there are other experts who say, talents can be developed over time. It means that the environment, the surroundings as well as the mental exercise through which a person goes, actually, shapes his brain capacity to troubleshoot different things. This can be exemplified by a recent study done in Canada. In 2020, the government of Canada conducted a trial where more than 5,000 children were given certain kinds of brain exercise along with their regular study curriculum. At the end of that 6-months study, they have shown better intelligence than the other kids of the same school. So this reflects a possibility that we can improve it with certain brain learning procedures.

To recapitulate, this debate will continue among different levels. Personally, I believe genetics is a precursor, but not the ultimate way to be intelligent. The other factors like the learning from the surroundings play a pivotal role in this process.