Some people think that it is best to live in a horizontal city while others think of a vertical city. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

It is argued that settling in a horizontal city is much more advantageous than a vertical city. Since being raised in Hanoi, the capital of Vietnam, I personally contend that life in a vertical city offers more advantages due to some following reasons.

On the one hand, it is beneficial for residents when settling in a horizontal city. Firstly, they can spend time on their outdoor activities such as gardening, basketball or a family camping in their own garden without travelling far away their house which is inconvenient and time-consuming. These activities are not only beneficial for both physical and mental health, but also effective ways to nurture love and harmony among family members. Secondly, living in a spreading out city with lower building is much safer in case of emergency. Since almost houses are low-rise buildings, inhabitants will find it easier to escape in case there is a fire in their house or their neighbourhood.

On the other hand, I of the opinion that life in a vertical building is the best due to its convenience and security. Since almost facilities such as supermarkets, malls, movie theaters, which offer the fundamental prerequisites are all in a building, dwellers can pursue any goods or services within walking distance. As a result, they can save time to take up new hobbies or participate in their favourite activities. Besides, security in a high-rising complex is always tight thanks to dozens of officers and security guards who are hired to watch the building carefully day and night. Therefore, the inhabitants can avoid unwanted situations such as thieves in their houses.

In conclusion, though it is advantageous to settle in a spreading out city, it seems to me that living in a vertical city is the best choice.