Some people think that it is better for college students to live away from home than live at home with their parents. To what extent do you agree?

It is argued that university and college students should live far away from home than live at home with their mother and father. I totally agree with this view.

On the one hand, the option to live close to parents is disadvantageous to some extent. One disadvantage is that students do not obtain a lot of valuable experiences in real life. Being under mother and father’s care make them become passive in every things appearing in life. As a result, they are likely to be underestimated in the eyes of employers when seeking a job. Other disadvantage is that young students who live at home during university have difficulties follow her or his passion. For example, my brother must give his dream of a basketball up under the incredible pressure of his parents who want him to progress rapidly in a teaching career, though other people said that he had a natural aptitude for that sport.

On the other hand, students can reap some benefits if choosing to stay near the university. Firstly, students have more time to master vital soft skills. They have more opportunities to blend in with people from different backgrounds and cultures, which allow them to gain relevant experiences. Therefore, they know how to build a strong relationship with friends and how to manage conflict. Secondly, it is beneficial for young students to improve English skills. If those who stay near campus join clubs and in activities relating to English skills, they could be able to hear, speak, read and write the English language constantly. This is a competitive edge for career promotion in the period of economic globalization.

In conclusion, it seems to me that staying far away from home is the best choice for students.