Some people think that it is better for college students to live away from home than live at home with their parents. To what extent do you agree?

It is argued that university and college students should live far away from home than live at home with their mother and father. I totally agree with this view.

On the one hand, the options to live close to parents is disadvantageous to some extent. One disadvantage is that students may not obtain a lot of practical experiences in real life. Being under mother and father’s care make youngsters become passive in every things appearing in their life. As a result, they are likely to be underestimated in the eyes of employers when seeking a job. Other drawback is that young students who live at home during university have difficulties following her or his passion. For example, my brother gave his dream of a basketball up under the incredible pressure of his parents who wanted him to progress rapidly in a teaching career, though he had a natural aptitude for that sport.

On the other hand, students can reap some benefits if choosing to stay near the university. Firstly, students can have more time to master vital soft skills. Because they have more opportunities to blend in with people from different backgrounds and cultures, which allow them to gain relevant experiences. Therefore, they know how to build a strong relationship with friends and how to manage conflict. Secondly, it is beneficial for young students to improve English skills. If those who stay near campus join clubs and in activities relating to English skills, they could be able to hear, speak, read and write the English language constantly. This is a competitive edge for career promotion in the period of economic globalization.

In conclusion, it seems to me that living away from home is much better than staying at home with parents.