Some people think that it is good for a country’s culture to broadcast
foreign films and TV shows. Others, however, think it is best to produce
local films and shows. Discuss both views and give your own opinion
In recent decades, movies and TV series have been imported at an
increasing rate, causing some public controversy. Although, some
traditionalists believe that this development comes at the expense of a
country’s culture, plenty of evidence suggests that the opposite is true
There are a number of reasons why local films and shows benefit a culture.
First, motion pictures are an effective way to crystallize and project the
intangible element of a culture. Therefore, if local films and shows are the
primary focus, viewers would find it easier to assimilate the beliefs, values
and assumptions of a culture, which can be difficult to achieve by using
written form. Second, producing more local films will enrich the cultural
library. For example, since local programs are abundant in India, the Indian
culture appears more vivid and unique than other cultures with fewer local
films produced.
On the other hand, imported movies and TV series bring a lot of advantages
to a local culture. First, thanks to foreign programs, local ones become more
distinguishable and thus appreciable, especially in the eyes of local
residents. In fact, if one never watched other countries’ programs, he or she
would be susceptible to taking his or her culture for granted. Second, by
getting new ideas from overseas, a local culture will obtain the opportunity
to fix its existing flaws and therefore get perfected. For intance, the South
Korean culture has fewer flaws than North Korean one because it is more
open to new ideas in the form of foreign films.
In conclusion, only focusing on producing local films and shows will do more
harm than good. Local officials should also recognize the benefits of
purchasing foreign movies on preserving their culture.