Some people think that it is good for a country's culture to import foreign movies and TV programmes. Others think that it is better to produce these locally.

People have different views about whether it is better for a nation to purchase foreign blockbuster movies or to make domestic ones. While people believe that buying the overseas programs and movies has several benefits, I would argue that producing traditional programs is a better alternative.

On the one hand, there are some enormous benefits from importing foreign films and programs. Firstly, a nation procures movies produced overseas, it would help people access to the civilized cultures. This results in people getting more useful information and knowledge. Secondly, citizens may learn the good things of other more well-bred communities and change their behaviors. For example, people who are from Vietnam can learn the habit of queuing in Western countries while they are waiting to buy food and drink in super market.

On the other hand, I believe that producing the traditional channels and movies locally is one of the best ways to develop the national economy and retain conventional values. The first reason is that film industry is likely to create plenty of work jobs such as actors, actress, directors and so on as well as invest the huge amount of money in the national budget. This leads to the fall of the unemployment rate in the future. The second reason is that programs made by local people would enable to preserve the local customs, belief, ethics and traditional values of their own cultures. For instance, many Vietnamese TV programs broadcast Cheo, Tuong, Cai Luong on Saturday night, which reminds youngsters of the diversity of traditional music and the beauty of them. This demonstrates that the traditional values will be neglected if the youth watch foreign movies.

In conclusion, while external programs and movies have an advantageous effect on people’s lives, it seems to me that creating domestic films is an optimal choice.