some people think that it is good for country's cultures to import foreign movies and TV programs. Other think that it is better to produce these locally. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are many differing views with regard to the producing of movies and TV programs. While I accept that buying foreign programs license is a good idea that contributes to nation’s cultures development, I believe that local produced programs play important roles and should be encouraged.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that foreign films and programs bring many advantages to the country’s cultures. Firstly, media always mirrors the society, so importing foreign programs is considered as an effective way to learn about other cultures and consequently diversify the host national values. Actually, watching a foreign film allows viewers not only to have overall opinions about the developments of a country’s entertainment industry but also to discover values of different lifestyles that can translate into practice to make our life more meaningful. Secondly, since being excel in foreign languages is desired by most people, especially amongst the youth, foreign programs, which provides people chance to regular access and practice languages, is even more crucial. TED, a language global program, for example, become indispensable for those who want to improve English skills as well as brainstorm new ideas.

On the other hand, it seems to me that programs which are made locally have to be maintained and enhanced for some reasons. The one thing is that some kinds of local programs, historical documentaries, for instance, are essential for education perspective. Those programs are aimed to teach people about the past and as a result, foster their sense of belongings and stimulate their national pride. The other thing is that by honestly reflecting daily life routines that are familiar to the local community, such programs can easily expose to wide audiences with high satisfaction. The Voice Vietnam can illustrate for this, even there are many versions of this global programs, a majority of Vietnamese person just only know about the program when Vietnamese version was launched.

In conclusion, each global and local programs has its own merits and both place great impacts on the development of nation’s cultures in various ways.