Nowadays, some people claim that public museums and art galleries will not be needed because people can see historical objects and works by using the computer. Do you agree or disagree?

In the age of information technology, many people believe that Internet can replace the needed of museums and art exhibitions since all historical objects and works are available on websites. I strongly disagree with this point of view for some reasons.

On the one hand, there are two main reasons that convince people to choose the Internet as the source of historical objects and works information. Firstly, the Internet provides audiences with an enormous amount of free historical information which is easily accessible in the most convenient way. Actually, by a finger click, people can access various kinds of information about an artwork from the author to materials. Secondly, online museums and exhibitions offer customers remarkable services that cannot be found at the real ones. For example, there are no opening time limit as well as unrestricted information data which cannot be served by real museums and art galleries due to the lack of capacities.

On the other hand, real museums and exhibitions are crucial and play as an indispensable part of the society. It is undoubted that firsthand experience is more interested than imagined experience. In other words, online-based information can never express adequate values of historic objects, but human experience of observing personally. Additionally, since museums and galleries are managed by a group of experts who have deep knowledge about the historical objects, the provided information is verified and more reliable. Furthermore, museums and art exhibitions place an important role in attracting foreigner visitors who are keen on understanding country’s cultural and traditional values and consequently contribute a significant proportion of government revenue.

To sum up, even though the online-based information is a great way to learn about historical works and objects, museums and exhibitions are still important for real experience and irreplaceable.